1000 Adams St.
Bay City, MI 48708, USA

Phone (989) 893-6026

bay commitment quotePost-secondary education is essential to the economic wellbeing of our region. To help prepare residents of the Great Lakes Bay Region for the future the Bay Area Community Foundation has instituted two initiatives to assist community residents in pursuing education beyond high school: the Bay Commitment First Generation Scholarship and the Great Lakes Bay College & Career Resource Center. Both of these entities work to increase college awareness, student readiness and success by providing information, mentoring, and needed resources, including financial support through scholarships.

Since its inception, the Bay Commitment First Generation Scholarship has awarded over $1.6 million to first generation college students. Continuing education benefits the person, the vibrancy of the area’s economy, and the quality of life for all citizens. Post-secondary education is a necessity, not a luxury.

Students Applying for these scholarships must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a first-generation student (neither parent/legal guardian that the student lives with has obtained a Bachelors Degree)
  • Have lived within the Bay County school district borders for 6 years
  • Have attended one of the following Bay County schools for all 4 years of high school: All Saints Central High School, Bay Arenac Community High School, Bay City Central High School, Bay City Western High School, Garber High School, John Glenn High School, Pinconning Area High School, Wenona Center
  • Attend either Delta College or Saginaw Valley State University for a minimum of 9 credit hours the proceeding fall.
  • Meet all high school graduation requirements and receive a diploma from a Bay County high school by June of their applying year.
  • Submit a scholarship application and essay to Bay Area Community Foundation by the first Monday in March.

Congratulations to the 2016 Bay Commitment Scholarship Recipients

Jeffrey Atkinson
Karen Atkinson
Brandon Beach
Emily Beardsley
Taylor Becker
Kennedy Bedell
Austin Behmlander
Alex Berg
Kali Blackmer
Meghan Blohm
Jennifer Boyd
Isaac Brantley
Azia Brooks
John Bublitz
Storm Butler
Samantha Calcutt
Elise Carmona
Gina Casper
Cailea Chappel
Jeffery Cook
Brooklyn Dault
Cody Debo
Taylor DeLongchamp
Chantal DePrekel
Dakota Doyen
Kameron DuBois

Tanner DuFort
Hannah Erwin
Rebecca Estep
Kevin Foco
Brittney Frost
Scott Graczyk
Hannah Gradowski
Hailey Harrison
Mariah Hartley
Taylor Hausbeck
Andrew Hawes
Paige Heintskill
Brianna Herner
Tiffani Iwanski
Wendy Jasman
Rebecca Kaczmarek
Lisa Kaplenski
Morgan Koziatek
Sage Krzywosinski
Chloe Latocki
Brent Leppek
Emily Leuenberger
Dylan Lightfoot
Brooke Maguire
Kevin Maroki

Brooke McCann
Caleigh McCrum
Alexis Micho
Austin Mieske
Connor Monaghan
Sierra Monroe
Hunter Moreau
Jack Mueller
Sarah Napieralski
Candice Neering
Natasha Nichols
Natasha O'Leary
Alex Painter
Olivia Parks
Tyler Parmentier
Talon Passage
Adam Pelletier
Calvin Pelton
Alexander Peters
Marybeth Pfund
Anh Pham
Laura Philipp
Rachael Poppe
Megan Rabideau
Brianna Ramey

Stephanie Rapp
Andrew Ratajczak
Logan Reder
Tyler Rivet
Lisa Ross
Hannah Rousse
Gabrielle San Juan
Brendan Sanchez
Dylan Sauer
Abigail Schmidt
Emily Schuette
Tatiana Sharp
Alyssa Shaughnessy
Connor Shaw
Haley Skinner
Kayla Smith
Mallory Stevens
Alexis Streeter
Hope Tafel
Hailee Umphrey
Trenton Vogel
Benjamin Wagner
Caitlin Walraven
Aleigha Warner

First Generation College Student Resources {Coming Soon!}

Bay Commitment Scholarship Donors

Your contributions to the following help support the Bay Commitment First Generation Scholarship. Thank you to all who assist in making education a priority in our community!

  • Bay Commitment Fund
  • Carolyn Wierda Bay Commitment Fund
  • Charles and Morrow Ford Bay Commitment Fund
  • Donald C. Nichols Designated Fund
  • Education Gift & Academic Awareness Commemorative Fund
  • Helen Mackley Memorial Fund
  • Krantz Family Fund
  • Labadie Auto Company Fund
  • The Meijer Foundation
  • Newell and Elizabeth Eddy Bay Commitment Scholarship Fund
  • Paul Revard and Frances Santoro Bay Commitment Fund
  • Phil & Whitey Jackson Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Ronald K. & Greta A. McGillivray Scholarship Fund
  • S.C. Johnson Giving
  • Stephen and Dena Wirt Fund
  • Virginia C. Johnston Scholarship Fund
  • Vision for Education